Volume 3 Chapter 4 Rewrite

“Tina.”

No doubt about that.

“… Then what about Miss Tess?”

“That isn’t really… Love, I guess.”

Alisha flipped upright in one single motion and threw her book at my face.

“Dodge!”

“You actually had the cheek to choose so shamelessly! It really pisses me off!”

“Didn’t you ask me to choose!”

“Idiot! You’re not worthy of either of them at all! You shouldn’t have chosen!”

“I, I’m not that bad!”

I’m a man who holds the power of demons! Even though I could kill myself while using it, it’s still better than not having it at all! In any case, this power should at least qualify me for earldom or dukedom somehow!

“You just aren’t worthy! Remember who you are, you’re my slave!”

“Before I was a slave, I’m the saviour of humanity! I slew that demonic beast!”

“Before you were a saviour, you were a wanted criminal! You stalled humanity’s progress for 50 years!” Alisha yelled as she charged over and grabbed me by the collar.

“Get a grip, you have no chance! Why don’t you look a little lower–” Her temper seemed to extinguish in an instant, “W, why don’t you choose someone who isn’t so beautiful… Someone who isn’t so nice… A girl who isn’t so cute…”

“It’s fine if her status is noble enough.” She quickly added.

“Ludicrous.” I managed to break free of her grip and distanced myself, “This has nothing to do with you. This is my own problem.”

“Of course it does! I’m your master, everything about you has to do with me!”

“I have no need for your worry! I’m going to bathe now!” I chose to retreat and hurriedly dove into the bathroom and shut the door. Alisha didn’t pursue me and she should cool off by the time I’m out.

“…”

… Ah. Her scent is still here in the bathroom.


“Master~”

“…”

It was morning now. The sky was dimly lit and the temperature seems to have dropped significantly compared to yesterday. In the coming months, Txarango will make the short transition from summer to winter.

The seasonal changes in this world are a lot more sudden. Humans are creatures that favour constant temperatures, under such drastic changes in temperatures, diseases spread easily. Moreover, medical technology is a lot less advanced here so the number of deaths from illnesses every year outnumber that from wars.

It’s only thanks to national policies in each country that promote childbirth, that the human population has been able to increase gradually.

Alisha came out of the bathroom after washing her face, her fringe still wet, and opened the cupboard as she picked out clothing suitable for the season.

“Wah, this set of clothing suits master very much. You’re so beautiful, no, thanks to master’s good looks, anything looks good on master.”

“…”

Alisha then pulled out a drawer and chose a thick set of silk socks.

“Sock manufacturers must count their lucky stars for being able to make goods that accentuate master’s long, slender legs.”

“…”

Alisha then placed the clothing she chose on the bed and began to unbutton her pyjamas.

“Master’s skin is so healthy, smooth and white. Even infants would be jealous of this– Uwo!”

“Get out!” Alisha yelled as she drilled a foot into my stomach, “I’m changing! What are you playing at!”

I obediently left the room and after a long while, Alisha finally opened the door wearing the clothes she picked earlier.

“My god! What kind of words must I use to be able to fully celebrate the goddess in front–”

“Cut your bullshit.” Alisha said as she stared unhappily at me, “What do you want from me?”

Since she saw through me, I’ll cut to the chase.

“I want to go to the market this weekend.”

“What for?”

“To get a birthday present for Tina.”

“Rejected.”

“Give me a reason!”

“It’s very dangerous outside the school,” Alisha said as she turned back to the room to get the chains, “We’re going to class now.”

“Just one afternoon. We can even put on a disguise. No one will recognise us.”

“No, put on the chains.”

“But I have to get something for Tina.”

“Anything will do, she doesn’t care about you anyway.”

“Master~~~~~~~~” I cried as I knelt on the ground and hugged Alisha’s legs, “My respected master, this is a request of my lifetime! I can do anything, please show me mercy and kindness and accede to this request!”

“If you are truly sincere, then cry for me to see.”

“Please wait for a moment. The tears will be out soon.”

“Die.” Alisha spat out as she kicked me aside.

“… It’s not like it can’t be done.” She paused for a moment and then said, “You said you would do anything?”

I was overjoyed, “Un! Come hell or high water, I will do anything you ask, just give the word!”


“The eyebrows are done wrongly.”

“Eh?”

“If you draw along the eyebrows, it will all go onto the eyebrows. Do against them so that it’s drawn on the skin instead.”

“Oh, this way huh?”

After I wiped my first erroneous attempt away, I did it once more for Alisha.

“You really have no experience at all huh?”

“I told you, how could a man have any experience with make-up?”

Most men, anyway.

Alisha’s request was for me to put on make up for her. Even after I told her I was an absolute beginner to make up, she still insisted on it.

Even though she’ll probably do it much better than me, she still wants me to do it. I really don’t understand why.

Throughout the whole process, Alisha was rather docile and didn’t say anything, only staring at me from time to time. I would always get nervous during those times and try to find ways to make conversation.

She was too close, her scent is filling my nostrils.

“Next is power huh?”

“You got the order wrong.”

“Wrong?”

“You need to apply foundation first.”

“Geh… Then I’ll start over again?”

“It’s fine, just continue.”

She didn’t blame me at all.

As I applied foundation on her skin, I could feel how smooth her cheeks were, as though her skin would tear if I used a little too much strength.

I then carefully spread the foundation evenly.

Time seemed to pass by so slowly. Neither Alisha nor I spoke, the only sounds came from people in the corridors outside.

“… I’ll be putting on lipstick now.”

Alisha nodded.

There was lipstick stored in the make up box but it wasn’t in the form of a stick or pencil, nor were there any tools I could use. After a long while, I finally gave up and used my finger to take some of the lipstick.

“O, open your mouth a little.”

Alisha seemed like she wanted to say something but she stopped herself. Did I get it wrong again? But she didn’t stop me so I decided to follow through.

Alisha obediently opened her lips, revealing flawless, white teeth.

“I, I, I, I’m going to do it.”

“…”

I planted my index finger on her lips.

So soft.

Impossibly soft.

I really have a lacking vocabulary as this is all I can describe what I’m feeling.

Unlike me, her lips were not dry nor were they chaffed. Her lips were moist from end to end, from lower lip to upper lip. It made me wonder how it would feel if I were to kiss her.

“*Ke* *Ke*! I’m done, un.”

“Molan.”

“Yes! *Ke*, what is it?”

“Where is your hometown?”

I thought I’d been read and nearly peed myself.

“That’s… Txarango’s Qinhai city.”

I’m not pulling this out of my behind. A city like that does exist. Of course, Qinhai (琴海) does not have a sea (海), I’m just borrowing Chinese words which sound best like how it’s pronounced here. Additionally, Qinhai is under Tina’s father’s dominion.

That uncle who is even colder and more aloof than Tina. I wonder how he’s doing now.

“What does your family do?”

“They’re ordinary farmers.”

“Have you been back lately?”

“No, I haven’t been back in almost a year now.”

Tina’s father forbid us from entering Qinhai. Back then when Tina forcefully took me in, they severed relations with each other and Tina moved into a mansion in the suburbs of a neighbouring city.

Though they called it severing of relations, it’s really just a father-daughter fight. Tina’s surname was not revoked, and though they stopped sending money to her, uncle didn’t take back any assets and businesses he’d handed to her before so we’ve been able to live comfortably since then.

Uncle is really a damn tsundere.

“Don’t you miss your family?”

“It’s fine for me.”

Uncle draws his sword whenever he sees me so I don’t really miss him.

“But,” Alisha said, “After the 17th, you will be returning to Rosa with me.”

“Eh?”

“I have no plans to remain studying here.”

“Then what are you here for?”

“To bring you home.” Alisha lowered her head as she said so, “Rosa has been negotiating with Txarango where you should remain. Txarango is unwilling to let you go and is adamant about having you remain and finish your studies in St Txarango. Because both sides were in an impasse, daddy sent me here.”

“What can you do now that you’re here?”

“The 17th. Daddy will visit Txarango on the 17th and Txarango will hole a commemorative banquet which will last a week. I will naturally be participating and so will you, alongside daddy… And after the banquet, you will be forcefully taken away.”

As expected of a superpower, they do what they like.

“Why is everyone fighting over me,” I laughed, “I’m just a lowly slave…”

“Yet you can fight demonic beasts alone. Everyone desires such power to be within the control of their own nation.”

“…”

“Did you know? The ones who want to assassinate you the most are Txarango.” Alisha said with a sharp and severe gleam in her eyes. This was the first time I’ve ever seen such an expression on her.

“They know they can’t keep you. So they’re planning on finding a way to get rid of you before daddy comes. That’s what daddy told me in his letters.”

“Even though you lot are entering a marital alliance on the surface, you have a lot of disagreements and machinations beneath huh?”

“That’s how politics is like. I don’t know too much so I will do as daddy says. That’s why we aren’t going out. We have Rosa guards and attendants all around the school so it’s safe here. Outside is another story altogether.”

“Then why did you change your mind and promise to take me to the market?”

“… Because,” She sank into silence for a moment, “After you come to Rosa, you won’t be able to see Miss Tina ever again. I… I don’t want to become a hateful woman.”

Alisha’s shoulders drooped as she said so, looking very downcast.

“Thanks~” I searched amongst the make up, “Next is the blusher right? Wuu, there are several colours here that are very similar.”

“Aren’t you afraid, Molan?”

“Of being assassinated? What’s there to be afraid of?”

“It will be crowded and bustling in the market, making it difficult for the guards to track any potential assailants. If you even show an opening, you’ll–”

“It’ll be fine, it’ll be fine. I can handle a demonic beast, what’s a few assassins?”

And Blackie won’t let me be killed, she swore that wouldn’t happen and I believe her.

“It would be good if that’s the case.” Alisha muttered but I pretended not to hear her.

The me now is still very conceited, and is oblivious to all potential dangers.

If only I could have been more prudent.

What would happen later on is something that the me of now would never have been able to foresee.

“Pass me the mirror.”

“Eh!? W, wait, I’m not done yet…”

“I’m very curious to see what you’ve done so far.”

“Wuu, umm, a little wild… Avant-garde… I think?”

Leave a comment