Volume 3 Chapter 5 Rewrite

TL: Front half of this chapter is the same as the second half of the V3C7 before the rewrite.


Tess stood before the spacious room and looked about anxiously. This room was far too big to tiny Tess and it was also dark so she couldn’t see clearly about her.

Where is this place… It’s so scary.

She didn’t dare to utter a single word for fear of something out there in dark, which might leap out at her should it detect a sound from her. The more she thought about it the more she got scared, and she hugged her long hair in the hopes of getting some sense of security from it.

Why am I here? Where is Zkocha? Where did he go, come find me quick…

Tess held back her tears as she trembled uncontrollably.

She was very afraid of the dark as the dark would always remind her of her mother. Her memory now was back to when she was 8 and her mother had just left her not too long ago. The day her mother had left, it was night and the candles burnt out, leaving Tess in darkness. Her mother said she had to leave for a bit and would be back shortly but she never came back.

So scary… So scary…

She was left alone again, curled up in the darkness holding back her sobs. There was no Zkocha nor was there her mother, and no one would come to save her.

Tess hugged herself and death kept popping up in her thoughts.

All of a sudden, flames sprouted on the candles and the light drove away the darkness and lit up the room.

Tess found that she was in an unbelievably luxurious throne room. The carpeted floor was red like fresh blood, the relief on the walls was lifelike and sparkling jewels formed clusters that were set in an enormous chandelier. At the end of the carpet was a majestic throne, on which sat a young man who looked at Tess with great interest.

Someone else is here!

Tess was scared out of her wits but then she calmed down soon after because she had seen the young man before. It was the big brother who begged her to bring her into the forest of elves half a month ago.

Now he was wearing a set of pitch black plate armour with a cape hanging from the back of the throne. In his right arm, he held a long blade that was encased in ice. His countenance had the arrogance of a monarch.

“You’ve come.”

His tone sounded tired, as though he had been waiting for Tess for a very long time.

“Big brother, you’re here too.” Tess said timidly, “Where is this?”

“This is my palace.”

“Ah? Big brother is a king?”

“That’s right, I’m a king.” He said with a smile, “I’ve been waiting in this palace for you for 10,000 years now.”

Tess was utterly bewildered at the inexplicable words the young man said.

“10,000 years? Eh? Why wait for me?”

A strange feeling suddenly assailed Tess who held her head instinctively.

“Eh? Eh? I seem to have forgotten something I need to do.”

“I know what you have forgotten. It is the reason why you are here.”

“Big brother knows? What is it?”

“Little Tess is here to kill me.”

The young man said blandly.

What is he saying? Instead of doubt, the first feeling that came forth was realisation. That’s right, I remember now, I’m here to kill him, Tess said to herself. With a clear goal in mind, all other thoughts were swept aside. Tess bit her thumb and blood flowed out to form a golden polearm.

Tess made for the young man as she gripped the polearm.

“You remember your mission now?”

The young man did not try to escape. Instead, he leaned back in the throne as he watched Tess walking over.

“So that’s what ‘awakened’ Emissaries look like. Just like remote-controlled robots huh. Little Tess, the you now does not look cute at all.”

Tess could no longer hear him.

The young man smiled bitterly.

“In the end, I still die by your hands. Fate truly renders one helpless.”

He continued to speak, even though no reply came.

“Did I transfer into this world just to be killed? I truly am unlucky huh. Back in my world, I was the top student of my school and I would have received the recommendation to enter Beijing University. My teachers would always tell me that after I graduated from Beijing University, I would easily pass the TOEFL and then go overseas. What a bright future that would have been. Instead I ended up here.”

Tess continued walking forward toward the young man with a blank expression.

“Although, it isn’t really bad luck. After coming here, I got to meet you all and many explosive things happened. I met a lot of people I would never have met back on earth. There’s a saying that life is not measured by the breaths we take but by the breaths we take away. With all the experiences I’ve had here, I feel that my life has been more than fulfilling.”

The young man laughed.

“Also, little Tess may have forgotten, but you actually confessed to me before! Holy crap, that shocked me so much, I nearly leaked then… But I was happy, very very happy. Could there be a more fortunate man than me? Hmph, I had become the most reajuu of reajuu in 2 worlds then and there!”

Tess had now walked up to the front of the young man and raised the polearm.

The young man had not taken a single step from the throne. He could not, because the 5 hearts beneath his plate armour were long since destroyed, and all it needed to end him was the last blow from Tess.

“But at the very end, the person I love still doesn’t love me.” His voice grew softer, “Little Tess, please help me give a message to Tina, tell her ‘I’m sorry.’”

The polearm pierced through the throne and stopped at the floor, cracking the tile. The young man closed his eyes tiredly and the palace shook as it began collapsing.

Tess awoke from the dream, her breath ragged and sweat dripping down from her chin.

She looked around her to confirm where she was. This was the room which Zkocha had prepared for her. The candles would always burn throughout the night and just outside was a glorious garden filled with flowers which could be admired from the window. The moon shone brightly and the air was fresh. There was no room, no polearm, no young man.

It was just a dream.

She heaved as she tried to catch her breath. An inexplicable chill ran down her spine.


“D, does it look good?”

“… Kind of.”

Alisha viciously kicked my shin and pulled out the hairpin roughly, “I’m not trying anything on anymore! I won’t look as nice as your Tina anyway!”

“Eh, that’s not what I meant! It’s a matter of matching! Your clothes and other hair accessories don’t match it!”

“Then don’t tell me to try on stuff that doesn’t match! Idiot!”

“Sorry…” I honestly apologised and returned the hairpin to where it was from.

Alisha and I are currently choosing a present in the market which was bustling, crowded and noisy. The guards were standing watch some distance away so as to give us some privacy.

I didn’t bring Shuoxue along today, or to put it more correctly, I wasn’t allowed to. Slaves are not allowed to carry weapons in public arenas, especially ones with high traffic volume.

Without Shuoxue, I’m not safe but I have no choice. It’s nothing big, I can always summon Blackie if the need arises anyway so there’s no need to worry.

“What kind of gifts do girls usually like?”

“Jewels.”

“I can’t afford that.”

“So lousy.”

“Lend me some?”

“No, I’m not the one who’s buying the present.”

“Maybe you’ve forgotten but you once promised to repay me.”

Something about sending people to send gold to me.

“Forget it. Your living expenses, tuition fees and wages for your security detail since you came back to Txarango have all been borne by me.”

Well, nothing I can say against that.

“Let me tell you, jewels are the usual answer but girls are actually easy to deal with. As long as your present looks like you put a lot of thought into it, she will definitely like it.”

“– Assuming she likes you to begin with.” Alisha suddenly added.

“That doesn’t help at all.”

My plan is to increase her affection for me through a gift so that she will like me.

“In other words, if she doesn’t like you at all, it doesn’t matter even if you give her the most expensive and exquisite of gifts.”

“Uwa, I’m in despair all of a sudden.”

“Hmph, just try your best.”

“Alisha, Alisha, try this one for Tina. I think it’s quite good.”

“No way, you will tell me it doesn’t look good on me again.”

“No I won’t, I carefully considered the overall style this time.”

Let me see, after countless pleas, Alisha hesitated and unwillingly took it as she placed it on her fringe. She kept an unhappy expression on but her cheeks were slightly reddened, “… How is it?”

“… Wu.”

“No need to say anything! I know just from looking at your expression! I’m a big fat idiot for helping you!”

Alisha’s hair isn’t really suited for these things. It’s a little dry as though she hasn’t taken care of it. Even though she’s a princess.

The original plan was to buy something by noon yet it was the late afternoon already but we haven’t bought anything yet.

“It’s all my fault I don’t look good in anything.”

“No such thing.”

It just isn’t tha~~~~~t good looking. Ever since my shopping trip with Tess, my sense of aesthetics has been greatly elevated.

Alisha lay down on the table in the restaurant and stared outside the window in silence.

“Your set lunches are ready. Here are some complimentary drinks.”

“Thanks.”

“Please enjoy your meal~”

After the waiter set down the trays and left, I picked up my knife and fork. The steak was done just right, its juices seeping out as I cut into it, letting out a strong fragrance.

“Hehehe.”

“What are you laughing at?”

“I can’t help laughing when I eat good food.”

“Just like an idiot.”

“Why aren’t you eating?”

“I’m not hungry.” Alisha said as she picked up the glass cup and slowly sucked on the straw, “The return time in our application to leave school is noon.”

“What do we do? Do we come again tomorrow?”

“Just buy something today. The school won’t say anything. We just can’t go back on the school carriage.”

“Do you know where to get a private carriage, foreigner?”

“No, local, you will lead us back when we return.”

“Alright.” I said as I picked up a napkin, “I’ll be leaving for a bit.”

“Un?”

“I’m going to the toilet.”

“Oh.”

“So help me take off the chains.”

I’ve been pulled about all morning through the streets. It’s really embarrassing.

Alisha put down the cup and reached over as she took out the key and unlocked the chains. Along with a clink, I regained my freedom.

“Don’t die in the toilet.” Alisha chimed in.

One thought on “Volume 3 Chapter 5 Rewrite

Leave a comment